Author Topic: Upgrading Firmware problem Windows 7 [Solution: Install DFU driver (step 4)]  (Read 7354 times)

Offline 260z

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
 Hi all,
 Having a problem upgrading my retrode and wonder if you can help.

I follow the steps  as you do holding down the buttons and when i go into device manager the Retrode is listed as an unknown device. Tried it several times but always shows as unknown. Tried all the ports and  dufferent cables to be safe  - but still the same.

It shows as retrode under normal use but always unknown when i try and upgrade :o


 What am i doing wrong?



Details are:

Retrode 2 (original firmware no version number)
Windows 7 Home premium 64 bit
AMD  Phenom 2 x6 1100T
16gb Ram


Thanks

Gareth


« Last Edit: 13/Apr/2013 06:14:43 PM by Matthias_H »

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading Firmware problem Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: 12/Sep/2012 04:29:35 AM »
Have you installed the Jungo driver? (step 4 under "Install new firmware version")
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline 260z

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading Firmware problem Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: 12/Sep/2012 01:08:50 PM »
I think i May be going Crazy - I did'nt even see step 4 last night I somehow jumped straight to step 5....  ::)

I  honestly dont know how i missed it - hangs head out of not being able to read Jeez.... maybe i can blame my browser? :-[

I'm at work at the moment so will do it tonight... Sorry and thanks


Gareth

Offline 260z

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading Firmware problem Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: 13/Sep/2012 11:54:46 AM »
Worked Perfectly - Just me being stupid  :o

Thanks

Offline zin0099

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading Firmware problem Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: 11/Apr/2013 04:30:14 AM »
well i had the same problem but i had to goto device manager to update/install the usb driver that had a caution sign next to it then i was able to install the firmware update

Offline DiggerandIndy

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading Firmware problem Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: 06/May/2013 01:55:37 PM »
Have you installed the Jungo driver? (step 4 under "Install new firmware version")

I'm having the same problems, too. What driver?

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Have you installed the Jungo driver? (step 4 under "Install new firmware version")

I'm having the same problems, too. What driver?

The one that you will find when acting according to information found on the page linked above.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline thomasgame

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading Firmware problem Windows 7
« Reply #7 on: 17/Nov/2013 01:31:52 AM »
Have you installed the Jungo driver? (step 4 under "Install new firmware version")
what "Jungo driver"? I clicked on the link and it just took me to the firmware page.

Offline Wannado

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading Firmware problem Windows 7
« Reply #8 on: 17/Nov/2013 10:31:31 PM »
Have you installed the Jungo driver? (step 4 under "Install new firmware version")
what "Jungo driver"? I clicked on the link and it just took me to the firmware page.

On said firmware page, you will find a heading that says "Install new firmware version", and in the paragraph below that heading, you will find a numbered list of steps.
Step 4, which the link text refers to, is:

Quote
4. Windows will now recognise a new device. When asked for drivers, direct it to the “usb” subfolder in your FLIP installation directory.

So, the question "Have you installed the Jungo driver?" translates to "Have you performed this step 4 (and steps 1, 2, 3 before it)?".

If you wonder why it's called the "Jungo driver", see step 5:

Quote
5. Go to the Windows device manager and look for a mysterious device called “Jungo” or “AT90USB646″ or similar. If there is none, repeat steps 3 and 4.

Offline thomasgame

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I've figured out the firmware deal, but I don't see it in the Retrode.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Can you confirm that your Retrode starts into HWB mode when you do the button thing as described, with unknown device popping up in Device Manager?

Then, just install driver for it from said "usb" subfolder of the FLIP installation.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline thomasgame

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I'm good now. I've looked on the Atmel instructions more closely and got to install the firmware. (the part to install the "unknown device") I guess I was too dumb to realize the answer was right in front of me. :-[

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Quote
too dumb to realize the answer was right in front of me. :-[

It happens to all of us, occasionally. Thanks to the community for helping poor thomasgame out :)
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.