Author Topic: Did I get a defective Retrode?  (Read 3132 times)

Offline goemon

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Did I get a defective Retrode?
« on: 25/Sep/2012 11:42:13 AM »
I hope I can explain this well. I just got a Retrode and noticed the SNES cartridge port seems a little smaller than I was expecting. You know how some SNES games have those two "teeth" or whatever to the left and right of the main middle board? Well, the cartridge port for mine only is big enough for the main board in the middle, the left and right sides are completely missing, Instead on their place just some little gold dots. I looked on the net and can't find any pics of a Retrode like mine, all of them seem to have SNES ports that are bigger. In this pic...

http://www.retrode.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/mainboard-final.jpg

...you can see that it looks like it's even got a left and right that's separated from the middle main area. Yet mine doesn't have this.

Was mine manufactured incorrectly? I can take a pic of it later(it's dark right now and my cellphone takes horrible pics at night, even with the light on), but I hope it's understood what I'm talking about.

Thanks.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Did I get a defective Retrode?
« Reply #1 on: 25/Sep/2012 02:04:48 PM »
No defect. Those additional 16 pins have never actually been used by the Retrode. In the last production run, we replaced the longer connectors with shorter ones to save material (and reduce shipping weight).
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline goemon

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Did I get a defective Retrode?
« Reply #2 on: 25/Sep/2012 04:31:32 PM »
I see. Are any games that use them usually ones with a special chip of some sort that the Retrode doesn't support, then?

Thanks for the reply.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Did I get a defective Retrode?
« Reply #3 on: 25/Sep/2012 07:51:17 PM »
Out of the special chips I'm aware of, only the SA-1 would require a connection on those pins to access the game data. So SA-1 games such as SMRPG and some Japanese titles are not supported by any version of the Retrode. The DSP or Super-FX series of processors, for instance, work fine in that they don't interfere with ROM access from the cartridge slot.
« Last Edit: 26/Sep/2012 05:34:06 PM by Matthias_H »
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.