Author Topic: Firmware Upgrade Problem [Solution: Update driver in Device Manager]  (Read 4858 times)

Offline JoeMD

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Hey folks,

I've only had my Retrode for a little while. I just got the SMS plug-in and tried to upgrade the device's firmware as described on the site. However, when I press HWB and RESET the computer continues to recognise the Retrode as the Retrode, it doesn't ask for drivers as stated in the instructions. I've tried it over and over and can't get it to work. Any help would be greatly appreciate.

Cheers.

Retrode 2
Windows 7
« Last Edit: 13/Apr/2013 06:15:09 PM by Matthias_H »

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
« Reply #1 on: 07/Apr/2013 03:32:50 PM »
You need to keep HWB pressed down until a second or so after you release RESET. Also, do they both *click* the same way when you press them? (could be that the HWB push button is not aligned correctly)
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline JoeMD

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
« Reply #2 on: 08/Apr/2013 11:50:39 AM »
I tried it again but I'm still not getting anywhere. I help down the HWB for a few seconds after pressng Reset as you suggested. The computer "donged" (made the sound it does when removable media is removed) once as id media is being removed normally. Very soon after this (within the few seconds HWB is held after pressing Reset) and then twice more in quick succession. However, the computer no doesn't recognise the Retrode is plugged into it at all, as the Retrode itself or as a new device.

If I do the same but release HWB right after the first "dong" the computer recognises the Retrode again. No matter what I try, the computer NEVER asks for drivers.

I tried the Retrode as-is with the SMS converter and it seems to work fine, although I only ran it for a short time. Still, I'd like to get this issue sorted for any future firmware updates.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
« Reply #3 on: 08/Apr/2013 04:02:19 PM »
Could you please check your device manager and see if there is a device like "Jungo" or "AT90USB646" there? Maybe you already have the driver installed for whatever reason.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline JoeMD

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
« Reply #4 on: 08/Apr/2013 04:05:42 PM »
Tried it twice. First I got a device called "Retrode" then "Unknown Device"

Offline korori

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
« Reply #5 on: 08/Apr/2013 04:35:07 PM »
1.) Use Device Manager
2.) Find Unknown Device
3.) Right Click on it
4.) Select Update Driver Software
5.) Select Browse my computer for driver software
6.) Browse to where you installed Flip
7.) Make sure Include Subfolders is checked
8.) Click Next
9.) It will then install the drivers needed for the device.
10.) Then Follow the tutorial on how to use flip to update the firmware.

Korori

Offline JoeMD

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
« Reply #6 on: 09/Apr/2013 12:50:48 AM »
Thanks very much. Worked like a charm.  ;)

Offline thomasgame

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
« Reply #7 on: 17/Nov/2013 02:13:08 AM »
1.) Use Device Manager
2.) Find Unknown Device
3.) Right Click on it
4.) Select Update Driver Software
5.) Select Browse my computer for driver software
6.) Browse to where you installed Flip
7.) Make sure Include Subfolders is checked
8.) Click Next
9.) It will then install the drivers needed for the device.
10.) Then Follow the tutorial on how to use flip to update the firmware.

Korori
I try to browse for Flip and the program refuses to bring up Flip.

Offline Wannado

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
« Reply #8 on: 17/Nov/2013 11:00:04 PM »
6.) Browse to where you installed Flip
I try to browse for Flip and the program refuses to bring up Flip.

Did you first install FLIP?

The link to FLIP provided on the firmware page is outdated. It only takes you to the front page of Atmel's website.
Here's an updated link to the download page for FLIP: http://www.atmel.com/tools/FLIP.aspx

FLIP requires a Java Runtime Environment (JRE) to run.
If you already have a JRE installed, download "FLIP 3.4.7 for Windows (requires Java Runtime Environment)".
If you do not have a JRE yet, download "FLIP 3.4.7 for Windows (Java Runtime Environement included)" instead.
Note that, from time to time, the version number of FLIP will increase, but I will not update the text of this post to reflect that. :)

To start each download, click the icon next to its description text on the download page.

Offline thomasgame

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
« Reply #9 on: 19/Nov/2013 08:37:46 PM »
6.) Browse to where you installed Flip
I try to browse for Flip and the program refuses to bring up Flip.

Did you first install FLIP?

The link to FLIP provided on the firmware page is outdated. It only takes you to the front page of Atmel's website.
Here's an updated link to the download page for FLIP: http://www.atmel.com/tools/FLIP.aspx

FLIP requires a Java Runtime Environment (JRE) to run.
If you already have a JRE installed, download "FLIP 3.4.7 for Windows (requires Java Runtime Environment)".
If you do not have a JRE yet, download "FLIP 3.4.7 for Windows (Java Runtime Environement included)" instead.
Note that, from time to time, the version number of FLIP will increase, but I will not update the text of this post to reflect that. :)

To start each download, click the icon next to its description text on the download page.
I've got it to work.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Sorry for the hassle. Other products are easier to update; I guess it takes more than a part-time wannabe engineer (read: me) to come up with more elegant and usable solutions. Glad to hear you got it to work now.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline zem

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I am wondering if I have a problem with the firmware update.

I followed the steps in Windows7, but after installing the driver the device  was called AT90USB64 and not AT90USB646. I repeated the steps, but it did not change.

Does anybody know, if the name is just cut or does this lead to problems?
« Last Edit: 11/Jul/2017 02:30:57 PM by zem »

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
So does it work as it should, besides the naming issue?
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.