Author Topic: Retrode versions  (Read 8155 times)

Offline Retrode64

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Retrode versions
« on: 01/Oct/2013 11:02:10 PM »
I received my retrode today it has a black main-board and was preloaded with F/W 17 so it is a newer model. (I have updated to 18C)

The question is this; why are the two extra cartridge that are suppose to be on both sides of the SNES slot missing and what issues will this cause when loading carts that have these extra pins.   


Great system but a little concerned about the lack or these two slots.
« Last Edit: 02/Oct/2013 12:47:03 AM by Retrode64 »

Offline Wannado

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #1 on: 03/Oct/2013 11:15:36 AM »
That's OK, see this post: http://forum.retrode.org/index.php/topic,102.msg855.html#msg855

Inserting a cartridge that has those extra pins should work fine. The extra pins connect to special coprocessors such as the Super FX chip, which the Retrode does not need to access.

Access to ROM and SRAM works through the central part of the slot.

Note that some games have a copy protection feature that makes them incompatible with the Retrode.

Offline Retrode64

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #2 on: 03/Oct/2013 10:55:49 PM »
Thanks.

Note that some games have a copy protection feature that makes them incompatible with the Retrode.

Is there an updated list of incompatible games?

Offline Wannado

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #3 on: 05/Oct/2013 04:30:32 PM »
Is there an updated list of incompatible games?

The only one that I know of[1] is outdated. If you want to know about a particular game, try to search the forum for statements about it.

AFAIK, games with the SA1 chip are incompatible[2]. Also, games with the S-DD1 chip are currently not supported, but may be someday[3]. Wikipedia has a list[4] of which game has which chip (possibly incomplete).

If the Retrode fails to read a cartridge of yours:
- Make sure that its contacts are clean.
- Try it in the real console to see if it works at all.
- Try the forceSystem, forceSize, forceMapper settings in the config file[5]. Instead of forceSize, you may also select the size using the HWB button.
- Search the forum for posts about the game.
- Ask for help on the forum. :)

[1] http://www.retrode.org/documentation/compatible-games/
[2] http://forum.retrode.org/index.php/topic,36.msg283.html#msg283
[3] http://forum.retrode.org/index.php/topic,124.msg1060.html#msg1060
[4] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Super_NES_enhancement_chips#List_of_Super_NES_games_that_use_enhancement_chips
[5] http://www.retrode.org/documentation/the-retrode-cfg-file/

Offline Retrode64

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #4 on: 06/Oct/2013 12:25:47 AM »
Thank you.

Offline Ness and Sonic

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #5 on: 06/Oct/2013 08:45:36 PM »
There is a place you can submit test results, but it is underused. Here you go, if you want to add to the list: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Ahrd-1bLKmXZdHhjSF9sb2pTZWxrQk5KSTh3ckprTnc&usp=sharing
Some times modern video game characters chase older ones. Some times older video game characters just say the wrong thing.

Offline Retrode64

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #6 on: 08/Oct/2013 02:07:51 AM »
Underused is an understatement. ;)

 I do have working games that are not on this list so maybe after I become
a little more acquainted I'll add info to this Spreadsheet.
« Last Edit: 08/Oct/2013 02:10:35 AM by Retrode64 »

Offline Ness and Sonic

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #7 on: 08/Oct/2013 09:02:53 PM »
I actually have a few N64 and GBA games that don't seem to work right. I wonder if it could be the Retrode Gold Edition not having a voltage converter or if the read speed being slowed down for Atari games have anything to do with it.
Some times modern video game characters chase older ones. Some times older video game characters just say the wrong thing.

Offline MasterOfPuppets

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #8 on: 08/Oct/2013 09:40:30 PM »
I actually have a few N64 and GBA games that don't seem to work right. I wonder if it could be the Retrode Gold Edition not having a voltage converter or if the read speed being slowed down for Atari games have anything to do with it.

It's the lack of a voltage converter. Same thing happened when I didn't switch it in my Retrode 2.

Offline Ness and Sonic

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #9 on: 09/Oct/2013 12:16:32 AM »
I actually have a few N64 and GBA games that don't seem to work right. I wonder if it could be the Retrode Gold Edition not having a voltage converter or if the read speed being slowed down for Atari games have anything to do with it.

It's the lack of a voltage converter. Same thing happened when I didn't switch it in my Retrode 2.
I'll need to find one, I guess. I wonder if there is any prebuilt ones on Amazon I can buy with my gift card balance. I'm not a do it myself kind of person when it comes to things like that.
« Last Edit: 09/Oct/2013 12:26:59 AM by Ness and Sonic »
Some times modern video game characters chase older ones. Some times older video game characters just say the wrong thing.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #10 on: 09/Oct/2013 08:01:01 AM »
There is no such standard USB device to my knowledge. I'll have to see if I have any spare ones flying around.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Ness and Sonic

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #11 on: 09/Oct/2013 01:06:24 PM »
Okay, thanks. I could use one as I know Bomberman 64 the Second Attack, Conker's Bad Fur Day, Sonic Battle, Metroid Zero Mission, and Metroid Fusion don't work under 5V. Most of my other N64 and GBA titles don't have any problems. With the exceptions of Sonic Battle and Metroid Zero mission, most of the ones listed crash when launched. Sonic Battle has glitched graphics and crashes at the story select screen. Metroid Zero Mission crashes as soon as I start a new game.
Some times modern video game characters chase older ones. Some times older video game characters just say the wrong thing.

Offline Zerker

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #12 on: 09/Oct/2013 09:15:17 PM »
Remember that GBA games can have issues with size autodetection. Have you tried looking up the proper game size and using the force size feature?

Offline Ness and Sonic

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode versions
« Reply #13 on: 09/Oct/2013 09:49:27 PM »
Yes, I did. The file sizes seemed correct according to what I found online.
Edit: I decided to upgrade. It seems some of the games do require 3.3V to work correctly. I'll make add a note to ones I find that do so on this list: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Ahrd-1bLKmXZdHhjSF9sb2pTZWxrQk5KSTh3ckprTnc&usp=sharing#gid=2
« Last Edit: 01/Nov/2013 06:28:22 PM by Ness and Sonic »
Some times modern video game characters chase older ones. Some times older video game characters just say the wrong thing.