Author Topic: [Solved] Writing SRM doesn't work correctly  (Read 1862 times)

Offline nielsk

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
[Solved] Writing SRM doesn't work correctly
« on: 05/Apr/2015 07:07:07 PM »
Hi,

I got a Retrode fairly new and I am using firmware .18d and I am on Linux.
I tested this only with my PAL-copy of Super Mario World but I have the following problem: I can play it without any problems and saving works as well. The moment the game is removed from power (Retrode disconnected from USB; game removed from the Retrode) the save returns to the state before I played it with the Retrode.

Right now I have 3 save states: 84, 6 and New. I started the new game, played two levels, saved (to the save-file on the cartridge in the Retrode), do a reset with the emulator and my states are 84, 6, 2 as expected.
I unmount the Retrode, remove it from USB, connect it again and the save states read 84, 6 and 2. File date returns as well to the original date (something 1990).

I also tried copying everything from the cartridge to my computer, play there, save and everything works as expected. I copy back, play from the cartridge and saves are as expected. I remove the cartridge from power, return it and I am back to 84, 6 and New.

Henceforth: Battery can't be empty or all save states would be lost and permissions can't be the problem as well otherwise I couldn't copy in the first place (yeah, I tried it with sudo, too).

What is the problem?

This is actually the most important feature I hoped to get from the Retrode: Copy game save-files from cartridges to my computer and be able to copy them back, so I have backups when I have to switch batteries in my cartridges.

Update: I also tried deleting the file and copying then, overwriting with dd, remove, then write with dd. I always unmounted before I removed the Retrode.
« Last Edit: 05/Apr/2015 08:25:36 PM by nielsk »

Offline nielsk

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Writing SRM doesn't work correctly
« Reply #1 on: 05/Apr/2015 07:36:35 PM »
I tried my luck now with Windows 7. After getting file system is full-errors, I deleted the srm and copied over the modified one. That seemed to have worked but after re-connecting the Retrode, I am back to the old .SRM.

Offline nielsk

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Writing SRM doesn't work correctly
« Reply #2 on: 05/Apr/2015 08:25:20 PM »
Problem solved: I didn't change the [sramReadonly]-value in the cfg to 0.
I thought making the file writable would be enough.

\o/