Author Topic: Cannot backup GBA ROMs and problem with an N64 ROM  (Read 1359 times)

Offline javidg96

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Cannot backup GBA ROMs and problem with an N64 ROM
« on: 25/Dec/2015 05:25:52 PM »
Hello guys. So, last week I received my Retrode 2 with the GBx and N64 plugins -very happy with the gadget- and I have come up against two problems.

First of all, I can't dump my GBA ROMs, they are recognised as 8MB files, which obviously don't work. I have tried setting [forceSystem] value to 'gba' and [forceSize] to '16' -or whatever size needed for each game-, but I only get corrupted ROMs and crashes with VBA-M.

The other problem I have is that one of my N64 cartridges can't be read by Project64 2.2, it will say "In a permanent loop that cannot be exited. Emulation will now stop. Verify ROM and ROM settings." (It is Pokémon Snap, by the way).


Can anybody help me with either of the issues? I can provide screenshots if needed, just tell me what you need to see. Thank you for your time :)

Offline Wannado

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot backup GBA ROMs and problem with an N64 ROM
« Reply #1 on: 26/Dec/2015 02:01:39 PM »
The first thing to check is the voltage. GBA and N64 games are both designed to work with 3.3 volts.

There is a voltage selector switch inside the Retrode 2. You can reach it through the SNES slot. If you look into the slot from above, you can see the labels "3.3V" and "5V" next to the switch (near the USB connector).

Disconnect the Retrode, then set the switch to "3.3V" before using the Retrode with GBA or N64 hardware. Likewise, select "5V" before using the Retrode with hardware from other systems (such as GB or GBC games, SNES controllers etc.).

Note that this is also described in the printed documentation that comes with the plug-ins.

Offline javidg96

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot backup GBA ROMs and problem with an N64 ROM
« Reply #2 on: 27/Dec/2015 12:19:30 PM »
Oh, my. I completely forgot about the voltage switch! Even though I read religiously through the manuals before receiving the Retrode :-\

Thank you, you sir just saved me big time!