Author Topic: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files  (Read 3359 times)

Offline retrosnes

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« on: 07/Feb/2016 03:47:17 PM »
Hi there,

I recently bought a Retrode 2. Unfortunately, I am not able to dump files:
NBA Jam TE -> no success
Starwing -> no success
Super Mario Kart -> no success
Sim City -> no success
...
If I dump the files and try to start them using SNES9x, I get a "bad checksum" error and the screen stays black.
I use "forcesystem: snes", the rest of the configuration parameters are unchanged.

The only dump I managed to make was Super Mario World.

Any advice?
« Last Edit: 08/Feb/2016 05:56:31 PM by retrosnes »

Offline ericbazinga

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Don't have a Retrode, want one though
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #1 on: 07/Feb/2016 05:01:55 PM »
Try using rubbing alcohol and Q-Tips to clean your games, then let them air out for a few minutes and try again.

Offline retrosnes

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #2 on: 07/Feb/2016 06:12:39 PM »
Thanks for your reply. I already cleaned my games using Q-Tips. Will clean them once more.



Why do games have to be cleanded when using Retrode 2 (i can use them in my original SNES without problems)?

Offline Retrode64

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #3 on: 07/Feb/2016 11:15:59 PM »
Alternatively you may refer to my cleaning guide found in my signature.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #4 on: 08/Feb/2016 09:51:24 AM »
Any advice?

Yes, please tell us exactly what you do and what you get. Without the [forceSystem] setting, are there any ROM files displayed or only the CFG? Can you confirm that the internal voltage selector switch is at 5V? If there is a cart detected without [forceSystem], please send dumps to support at <productname> dot org
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline retrosnes

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #5 on: 08/Feb/2016 06:09:58 PM »
Retrode is set to 5V.
I cleaned all games a second time using a Q-Tip and 100% alcohol (should I go for a "mecanical" cleaning?).

When I start my computer with the Retrode already connected I cannot get past the post screen. Is this behaviour normal?

So here is what I did (forcesystem: snes):
Variant 1:
1. Start computer (Retrode not connected)
2. After start up, I connect the Retrode to my computer, an explorer window opens automatically
3. I insert a game, hit refresh in explorer
4. I can see 2 files (plus retrode.cfg BUT: sometimes the name is right, sometimes not, sometimes only one file although with the same game I had two files before, the size of the files may differ when using the same game)
5. I double click the *.sfc file
6. Bad checksum, black screen

Variatiant 2:
1. Start computer (Retrode not connected)
2. Insert game
3. Connect to computer
4. Computer does not regocnize my Retrode (the green light on the Retrode lights up but nothing happens, even not after 10 mins or so)
5 When I remove the game frome the Retrode, the light still lights up, nothing happens

If I use forcesystem:auto:
Variant 1: no success at all, after inserting the game, the green light lights up bu nothing happens or I see a file named "2600.cartrige.a26"
Variant 2: green light lights up, nothing happens.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #6 on: 08/Feb/2016 07:26:04 PM »
Hmm. Sounds like either incomplete firmware flash or faulty hardware. Please go to retrode.org/firmware and see if updating to latest beta helps.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline retrosnes

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #7 on: 08/Feb/2016 08:35:37 PM »
Thanks for your quick reply.

I found .18d on my retrode. I flashed .18c (.18d is beta only).

No difference. Tomorrow I will try to flash .18d-beta3

Offline Aleron Ives

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #8 on: 08/Feb/2016 10:42:25 PM »
What is your OS? I found under Windows 7 that current firmware versions generate errors in the event log, perhaps caused by a bug in the latest LUFA that was added to the firmware in 0.18c. I don't get errors on 0.17g, so I continue to use that firmware. Perhaps it would work for you, too.

Offline retrosnes

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #9 on: 09/Feb/2016 04:47:15 PM »
I tried using WindowsXP and WIndows2000 (my retro gaming rigs).

Which event.log are you talking about? W7 event log? Where can I find it?

Tried some other firmware:
18a -> no difference
17g -> no difference

When I use 18a or 17g plus forcesystem:auto Retrode detects only one file called "GenericRomInSnesSlot.dat". Did this happen to anyone else?
« Last Edit: 09/Feb/2016 05:30:29 PM by retrosnes »

Offline Aleron Ives

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 - not able to dump files
« Reply #10 on: 09/Feb/2016 10:25:35 PM »
Under the Windows 7 Start Menu, just type "event" and you'll get a search result for the Event Viewer. Firmware 0.18d beta generated Event ID 11, Source: Disk errors every time I plugged in the Retrode. See here. Perhaps your event log will reveal whether the Retrode is generating any errors on your system.