The save data can only be changed by overwriting the Retrode's save file in place. However, some copy commands, when asked to overwrite file X, instead create a new file Y, then delete X, and finally rename Y to X. The Retrode does not support this or similar procedures, as they would require a lot of buffer memory.
The same restriction applies to the Retrode's config file.
I expect the following method of overwriting a file on the Retrode to be reliable:
- "Delete" that file on the Retrode. I repeat: on the Retrode. Note that it must be a permanent deletion command. Moving the file to the "recycle bin" will not work.
- Copy your file to the Retrode. Since the only free space is that of the deleted file, the data should go exactly where it is supposed to.
- The name of the new file does not matter to the Retrode. If you delete the save file, any new file will overwrite the save data.
- Do not delete more than one Retrode file at once.
- Do not edit another Retrode file while one is deleted.
- After connecting the Retrode, please verify that the read-only attribute of the Retrode's save file is already unchecked. This is to confirm that sramReadonly 0 has really taken effect. If it didn't, try editing the config file as described above.
- If you look at a file after editing it, the host usually shows you cached data. You must safely remove / unmount and reset the Retrode to see if the written data was really stored.
- When using HxD to edit a file on the Retrode, make sure the option to create backup (BAK) files is unchecked.