Author Topic: Problem from upgrade firmware - resolved  (Read 4632 times)

Offline Colargol

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Problem from upgrade firmware - resolved
« on: 10/Feb/2012 04:10:35 PM »
hi,

I followed all steps to upgrade my firmware and since my retrode 2 do not detect with my hard drive/ usb storage. It's detect only in Device Manager with name AT90USB46. So i can't use it !!!!
What i can do ? help me

I tried:
Retrode2-v0.17d-beta
Retrode2-v0.17c

Same result
« Last Edit: 10/Feb/2012 05:01:45 PM by Colargol »

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem from upgrade firmware
« Reply #1 on: 10/Feb/2012 04:26:55 PM »
Which operating system?
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Colargol

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem from upgrade firmware
« Reply #2 on: 10/Feb/2012 04:29:11 PM »
Seven x64 (ultimate)
but i can try with 2 others computers: seven x32 and windows pro sp3

edit: i tried them and same, and i must install flip to get a pilot for retrode2 can't install alone ... don't know why, maybe upgrade failed ?
« Last Edit: 10/Feb/2012 04:39:11 PM by Colargol »

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem from upgrade firmware
« Reply #3 on: 10/Feb/2012 04:37:35 PM »
Thanks for the information. Seems like there is something screwed up in your device definition. Windows stores all devices that it ever found on any of the USB ports permanently in its registry (I guess even with multiple entries for different ports). I'd suggest you skip through the registry editor, and delete all occurrences of the Retrode's VID:PID pair (I'd search for the string "97C1", and look out for hits in combination with "0403"). This should make Windows forget everything it thought it knew about the device. Then, you reconnect the Retrode and try not to interrupt the enumeration until it's done.

EDIT: No need to do this. There's something wrong with the firmware flashing procedure, apparently.
« Last Edit: 10/Feb/2012 04:47:19 PM by Matthias_H »
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem from upgrade firmware
« Reply #4 on: 10/Feb/2012 04:40:29 PM »
Wait a second, it detects the AT90USB646 bootloader? That should never happen; have you reset/reconnected the device at all?
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem from upgrade firmware
« Reply #5 on: 10/Feb/2012 04:41:56 PM »
On your first machine, what messages do you get from FLIP? Is the "verify" step successful?
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Colargol

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem from upgrade firmware
« Reply #6 on: 10/Feb/2012 04:53:37 PM »
yes verify pass,
i show you how i do this:




« Last Edit: 10/Feb/2012 04:55:17 PM by Colargol »

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem from upgrade firmware
« Reply #7 on: 10/Feb/2012 04:56:42 PM »
Are you sure you are loading a firmware file at all? In "Flash Buffer Information", it should show a size of 33KB or so, and a proper checksum.

You have to load the firmware from a directory that has no special characters in the path. It is very likely that FLIP can't deal with the 'é' in Multimédia.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Colargol

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem from upgrade firmware
« Reply #8 on: 10/Feb/2012 04:58:51 PM »
i forgot to tell u i have this problem when i load firmware:


True, nice , thx, it was é :( of multimédia ;)

now work perfectly
« Last Edit: 10/Feb/2012 05:01:11 PM by Colargol »

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problem from upgrade firmware - resolved
« Reply #9 on: 10/Feb/2012 05:25:25 PM »
i forgot to tell u i have this problem when i load firmware:

That's it :D You were lucky that I already knew this problem with FLIP :)

Edit: Updated instructions on firmware page.
« Last Edit: 10/Feb/2012 05:30:59 PM by Matthias_H »
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.