Author Topic: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?  (Read 2124 times)

Offline Shwing

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #15 on: 17/Sep/2017 04:31:24 AM »
I can take some pictures later but compared to the game gear each row of vias is the same distance apart. The two rows however are closer together than the game gear's rows.

I measured it and the distance between 1 and 2 is the same distance as 1 and 3.

Offline RazorX2014

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #16 on: 17/Sep/2017 04:38:57 AM »
I can take some pictures later but compared to the game gear each row of vias is the same distance apart. The two rows however are closer together than the game gear's rows.

I measured it and the distance between 1 and 2 is the same distance as 1 and 3.

if possible send me some good pics and perhaps both next to each other and stuff like that, it would really help thanks

Offline Shwing

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #17 on: 17/Sep/2017 10:24:42 PM »


Sorry for the crappy picture. The through holes are approx. 2.5mm apart all around on the PC Engine PCB.

If you make the PCB with the through holes I can order one to test with my connector.

Offline RazorX2014

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #18 on: 17/Sep/2017 11:52:46 PM »

Sorry for the crappy picture. The through holes are approx. 2.5mm apart all around on the PC Engine PCB.

If you make the PCB with the through holes I can order one to test with my connector.

whats the distance between the bottom through holes and the top?

Offline Shwing

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #19 on: 18/Sep/2017 12:18:56 AM »
2.5mm between through holes 1 and 2.

Offline RazorX2014

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #20 on: 18/Sep/2017 01:11:57 AM »
2.5mm between through holes 1 and 2.
2.5mm from the top row to the bottom row? and what about from one pin to another on the same row.

Offline Shwing

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #21 on: 18/Sep/2017 01:36:02 AM »
2.5mm between through holes 1 and 2.
2.5mm from the top row to the bottom row? and what about from one pin to another on the same row.

Sorry about that. Its 3mm diagonal from 1 to 2. The ones next to each other are 2.5mm.

Offline RazorX2014

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #22 on: 18/Sep/2017 03:21:14 AM »
2.5mm between through holes 1 and 2.
2.5mm from the top row to the bottom row? and what about from one pin to another on the same row.

Sorry about that. Its 3mm diagonal from 1 to 2. The ones next to each other are 2.5mm.

thanks im getting there, now can you post an image of the entire row of pins since your first was cut off i want too see both rows in there entirety including where it tells you what pin the end ones are thank you.

Edit:
nm i think i got it
« Last Edit: 18/Sep/2017 03:28:46 AM by RazorX2014 »

Offline Shwing

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #23 on: 18/Sep/2017 03:33:34 AM »


Edit: oops well here it is anyways.

Offline RazorX2014

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #24 on: 18/Sep/2017 03:54:22 AM »

Edit: oops well here it is anyways.

thanks, hows this look:


the drill holes are the size i set for my sega card to master system slot and that fit perfectly and its basically the same.

Offline Shwing

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #25 on: 18/Sep/2017 04:24:57 AM »
Yeah that looks great actually!

Offline RazorX2014

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #26 on: 18/Sep/2017 07:34:11 AM »
Yeah that looks great actually!

ok this is what i got so far:



and this is what it looks like with the original slot laid over the top:



it looks like now im gonna have to move the dip switches a little :D of course i just scaled this from an image so it could be wrong.
dips switches are just connecting one point to another so it would be possible to just solder them on the opposite side.
« Last Edit: 18/Sep/2017 07:42:02 AM by RazorX2014 »

Offline Shwing

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #27 on: 18/Sep/2017 03:58:13 PM »
Awesome. When your finished I can order one and test it to make sure it works. What would I need to do to dump a PC Engine game vs a Turbografx game?

Offline RazorX2014

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #28 on: 18/Sep/2017 05:01:41 PM »
Awesome. When your finished I can order one and test it to make sure it works. What would I need to do to dump a PC Engine game vs a Turbografx game?
a pc engine game lol, but i dont know how the retrode will work with pc engine if its already setup to detect and work with turbografx then it will most likely show up as a turbografx rom and you just need to rename the extension.

but bare in mind this is still design stage and it will take be a while to get to the point where im happy to order some boards.

am working on multiple things at the same time for example im working on a vectrex plugin too which im waiting for stuff to arrive so i can see how the retrode handles that and then i will need to speak to someone who works on the firmware to add support for it if its gonna work and then im going to make others too.
« Last Edit: 18/Sep/2017 05:10:35 PM by RazorX2014 »

Offline Shwing

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PC Engine/Turbografx plug in?
« Reply #29 on: 18/Sep/2017 06:20:25 PM »
Great! Well I look forward to all these projects you're working on.