Author Topic: RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok  (Read 1139 times)

Offline bluegrassjedi

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« on: 21/Sep/2017 06:07:33 AM »
ALCON,

I ordered the Retrode 2 this month finally!! Been waiting months and it was hard to get.
I have a problem with the .SRM files it creates from SNES and Sega Genesis carts.
The manual stated that the Retrode2 has some write protection regarding saving data to the Cart. (N/A ?)
The firmware may be the cause as well. I have .20-beta for my Retrode 2 Firmware.
See below for more details. I'm stumped for now and need help.

Procedure:
1. I inserted the Donkey Kong Country SNES cart into the Retrode2. 
2. I connected the Retrode2 to my computer via USB.
3a. The Retrode 2 created these 3 files below:
3b. DonkeyKongCountry.107F.sfc, DonkeyKongCountry.107F.srm, and RETRODE.CFG
4. I copied both of the RAM and ROM files to my desktop.
5. I attempted to use the files with emulators in the correct directories.
6. I repeated the same steps for Sonic The Hedgehog 3 Sega genesis cart.

Test results for a SNES Cart + Retrode:
Note: I used an old (but working) Donkey Kong Country cart (NTSC, US)
[SUCCESS] Use the Retrode2 created SNES ROM file (.sfc) in my emulator.
[FAILED] Use the Retrode2 created SNES RAM file (.srm) in my emulator.
[SUCCESS] Use the Donkey Kong Country Cart on actual hardware. The SRM data loaded just fine.

Test results for a Sega Genesis Cart + Retrode:
Note: I used an old (but working) Sonic The Hedgehog 3 cart (NTSC, US)
[SUCCESS] Use the Retrode2 created Sega Genesis ROM file (.bin) in my emulator.
[FAILED] Use the Retrode2 created Sega Genesis RAM file (.srm) in my emulator.
[SUCCESS] Tested the same Cart on actual hardware. The SRM loaded just fine.

Notes from both tests:
The ROM file (.sfc or .bin) works fine. I can play it in an emulator. (SNES9x)
The RAM file (.srm) file does not work in the emulator.
I checked the save directory and the name of the RAM.
The RAM name matched the ROM. (except the extension of course).
I tested both carts on actual hardware and they worked with no issues. Save states (SRM) loaded.
All of these files have a modified date of 11/20/1990, which doesn't make any sense to me.

My setup with Retrode:
Retrode 2 (no controllers plugged in) + a SNES or Genesis cart (one at a time)

My Questions:
1. Are the .srm files created from the Retrode supposed to work in emulators? (such as SNES9x)
2. Can someone help me get this Retrode2 working?
3. Why is the modified date of the Retrode files 11/20/1990?

Possible solutions:
Change the config file of the retrode.
Firmware upgrade? (I have .20-beta)

Thanks and Kudos.
« Last Edit: 24/Sep/2017 07:10:51 AM by bluegrassjedi »

Offline skaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Junior Retrode
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +33/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNES RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #1 on: 21/Sep/2017 07:32:42 AM »
You should update to FW v0.22.  After updating, reread the DKC cart and test the save file.

The Config file setting [sramReadonly] determines whether you'll be able to write changes to the save file back to the cart.  This setting will be changing in future firmwares to [saveReadonly].

The date is not something to worry about it.  It is the default when the Retrode creates the file for the filesystem.

Offline skaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Junior Retrode
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +33/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNES RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #2 on: 21/Sep/2017 05:55:27 PM »
Wannado updated the Genesis save code in v0.21-beta.  These changes are included in v0.22.

There is a Config file setting [segaSram16bit] that you might need to change to make your save file compatible with the emulator.  I haven't personally tested this but it is documented on the website and in these forums.

Good Luck!

Offline freddykrueger1

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNES RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #3 on: 23/Sep/2017 11:53:44 AM »
where I can download the firmware 0.25 because on retrode.org I can download only 0.19 ?

Offline MrPete1985

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Offline RazorX2014

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNES RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #5 on: 24/Sep/2017 04:39:45 AM »
where I can download the firmware 0.25 because on retrode.org I can download only 0.19 ?

im pretty sure only 0.22 is out not 0.25

Offline bluegrassjedi

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNES RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #6 on: 24/Sep/2017 06:06:34 AM »
ALCON,

I updated the Retrode Firmware to .22 using the link provided.
I used the FW instructions on the official Retrode site.
I still cannot get the SRM files to work with the emulators for genesis or SNES.
I even modified the [segaSram16bit] with no success.
I haven't tried older FW yet. That may solve the issue, I dunno.
Any advice welcome and is still needed.

I wont worry about the date then.
Thank all y'all for replying.

My new config File:

; Retrode .22 - Config
; Remove any line to revert setting to factory default

[HIDMode] 1 ; 0: Off; 1: 4Joy+Mouse; 2: 2Joy; 3: KB; 4: iCade
[blinkControllers] 1


[nesMode] 0         ; 1: NES gamepads; 0: SNES

[filenameChksum] 0  ; checksum in filename? 0=no, 1=yes
[detectionDelay] 5  ; how long to wait after cart insertion/removal
[sramReadonly] 0    ; write protect SRAM? 0=no, 1=yes
[segaSram16bit] 1   ; 0=no, 1=yes, 2=y+large
[sramExt] srm
[snesRomExt] sfc
[snesOverdump] 1    ; overdump correction? 0=no, 1=yes
[snesRomVer] 0      ; version instead of checksum? 0=no, 1=yes
[segaRomExt] bin
; Override autodetect:
[forceSystem] auto
[forceSize] 0
[forceMapper] 0
; Optional plug-ins:
[n64RomExt] n64
[gbRomExt] gb
[gbaRomExt] gba
[smsRomExt] sms
[ggRomExt] gg
« Last Edit: 24/Sep/2017 06:16:25 AM by bluegrassjedi »

Offline RazorX2014

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNES RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #7 on: 24/Sep/2017 11:48:48 AM »
ALCON,

I updated the Retrode Firmware to .22 using the link provided.
I used the FW instructions on the official Retrode site.
I still cannot get the SRM files to work with the emulators for genesis or SNES.
I even modified the [segaSram16bit] with no success.
I haven't tried older FW yet. That may solve the issue, I dunno.
Any advice welcome and is still needed.

I wont worry about the date then.
Thank all y'all for replying.

My new config File:

; Retrode .22 - Config
; Remove any line to revert setting to factory default

[HIDMode] 1 ; 0: Off; 1: 4Joy+Mouse; 2: 2Joy; 3: KB; 4: iCade
[blinkControllers] 1


[nesMode] 0         ; 1: NES gamepads; 0: SNES

[filenameChksum] 0  ; checksum in filename? 0=no, 1=yes
[detectionDelay] 5  ; how long to wait after cart insertion/removal
[sramReadonly] 0    ; write protect SRAM? 0=no, 1=yes
[segaSram16bit] 1   ; 0=no, 1=yes, 2=y+large
[sramExt] srm
[snesRomExt] sfc
[snesOverdump] 1    ; overdump correction? 0=no, 1=yes
[snesRomVer] 0      ; version instead of checksum? 0=no, 1=yes
[segaRomExt] bin
; Override autodetect:
[forceSystem] auto
[forceSize] 0
[forceMapper] 0
; Optional plug-ins:
[n64RomExt] n64
[gbRomExt] gb
[gbaRomExt] gba
[smsRomExt] sms
[ggRomExt] gg

is the rom you dumped working? because its possible it didnt read the card correctly or the size isnt exact.
what i do is download the rom of the game you want to dump then dump the rom and save off the retrode to your desktop and compare them to each other using HxD (the dumped rom and downloaded rom that is) and see if your dump is an exact match and if it is try it on an emulator again.

the other thing you might want to check is the emulator and make sure its loading the save you want it to load rather than it trying to load a save for your game from another directory.

Offline MrPete1985

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #8 on: 24/Sep/2017 01:15:10 PM »
At this point it sounds like maybe the emulator is not checking the right directory, can you upload your SRM file for DKC so I can try loading it?

Offline bluegrassjedi

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #9 on: 27/Sep/2017 01:32:48 AM »
ALCON,

I compared the HEX files between a working emulator .SRM and the Retrode .SRM. They don't match at all.
The Retrode .SRM file has every value as "FF". The working .SRM has random values.
I uploaded the .SRM file as requested. I uploaded the retrode .CFG file I'm using.
I uploaded a screen shot of the HEX value comparison.

My unresolved issues:
1. The .SRM files from the Retrode do not work in an emulator for both SNES and GENESIS.

2. The .SRM files cannot be saved to the cart, even with read only option set to "0".
I can't copy/overwrite the file because insufficient space.
I delete the .SRM file, moved the one I want to use to the retrode. It looks like it saved it.
I load it on my actual hardware and it kept the original save. :(

What is working:
The ROM files load in the emulator just fine.

I am running Windows 7 64bit with a brand new computer.
I tested the Retrode on both USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 ports. Same results.


Offline skaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Junior Retrode
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +33/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #10 on: 27/Sep/2017 05:52:38 AM »
I'm not sure what is going on with your setup.

Donkey Kong Country has been tested. 

I don't have that specific cart but I have the Japanese Super Donkey Kong and it works perfectly. 

I retested my Super Donkey Kong and can read the .SRM file and write to it.

I'm wondering if it is a driver issue.

Offline skaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Junior Retrode
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +33/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #11 on: 27/Sep/2017 07:36:48 AM »
I think I figured out the problem.

Check the Voltage switch inside the left side of the SNES slot.  Make sure it is set to 5V.

Try reading the cart again.

Good Luck!

Offline bluegrassjedi

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #12 on: 28/Sep/2017 06:44:51 AM »
EPIC THANK YOU AND KUDOS!!! WOOHOO!!! 
THE RETRODE2 WORKS NOW!!! BOTH SNES AND GENESIS ROM+RAM files!!
One of my dreams is complete finally!!!

After I switched the voltage from 3V to 5V, it read my SNES + GENESIS carts flawlessly. (ROM+RAM)
They loaded just fine in the emulator.

I was able to read Gameboy cart ROM+RAM files.
I was able to get n64 ROM files, but the RAM files are missing. That's ok, not a big concern now.
My SNES saves are WAY MORE VALUABLE to me.

Solution:
Set the Voltage switch on the Retriode2 to 5v.
The Voltage switch is located on the Left side.

Offline skaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Junior Retrode
  • *****
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +33/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #13 on: 28/Sep/2017 07:49:41 AM »
For N64 carts, you'll need to switch the voltage to 3.3V.

I've added N64 SRAM, EEPROM, and FlashRAM save support in the latest BETA firmware.

If you want to read your N64 saves, then PM me and I'll send you the link to the firmware.

Offline bluegrassjedi

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM files (.srm) not working. ROM files (.sfc) ok
« Reply #14 on: 12/Oct/2017 04:27:54 AM »
I upgraded my RETRODE2 firmware to 0.23e BETA successfully.
I am able to see the N64 ROM and RAM files now while using 3v.

Project64 will not read the RAM files that the Retrode2 generates. Not sure why.
I looked at the RAM file in Hxd and it looked ok (no FF's or 00's)
The N64 cart reads fine on actual hardware.

I uploaded the RAM file from Mischief Makers for troubleshooting.
Please advise.