Author Topic: Feature suggestions  (Read 32601 times)

Offline ICEknight

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #30 on: 19/May/2012 01:12:16 AM »
Just remembered something, is the controller ports support for the Wii still being considered?

Also, even if there's not going to be J-Cart support, wouldn't it be possible to support connecting the Sega-Tap for reading 4 Mega Drive controllers at once?

Online Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #31 on: 19/May/2012 04:37:43 AM »
How about this thread -- have you tried using the controllers in HID Keyboard Mode?
http://forum.retrode.org/index.php/topic,20.0.html
With the latest firmware, 4 controllers should be supported (2SNES+2Sega) even in keyboard mode.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline ICEknight

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #32 on: 19/May/2012 06:22:59 PM »
Just read that, but Genesis Plus GX doesn't allow to play with a keyboard and define keys...


In any case... are 4 Mega Drive controllers out of the question, then?

Online Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #33 on: 21/May/2012 07:11:53 PM »
In any case... are 4 Mega Drive controllers out of the question, then?
But no! You can, of course, buy as many Retrodes as you like :-)
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Vigi

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #34 on: 22/May/2012 07:43:17 AM »
Hoping that it would be possible to add support for bankswitching / SSF2.. I don't know if this document provides sufficient info: http://emu-docs.org/Genesis/ssf2.txt

Otherwise it should be possible to contact Cowering to ask how the cartridge is dumped with the Sega CD cable method (he made that possible.. and also wrote the bankswitching code for MESS IIRC).

I have a cartridge here that I could provide..

Regards

Quote
Hi,

I've been trying to dump my Super Street Fighter 2 cartridge for genesis, but it appears to be giving a wrong output. Besides the fact that it's recognized as a 4 MB cartridge (when it's really 40 Mbits / 5 MB), the appears to be a different pattern in the data in some places:
At the end of a block of 256 bytes, either 7 or 8 bytes are different sometimes.. the different bytes are either 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 or 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07.. I'm pretty sure that it's related to the bankswitching mechanism (some documentation on that here: http://emu-docs.org/Genesis/ssf2.txt )

Is there any way to add support for this cartridge through a firmware update?

Regards

Quote
Could be possible, depending on whether the bank switching chip uses the clock signal or not. Why don't you suggest it in the Feature Suggestion Thread and I'll see when I find the time to hunt down such a cart and try to get it to run.

Offline matt

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • gingerbeardman
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #35 on: 24/May/2012 02:55:24 PM »
Thanks for adding my feature suggestion of HID selection using a connected controller. It's as useful as I had hoped!

I have a couple of related thoughts:

1. Could something like the following ASCII art be added in the CFG by default?
So you always know where to go to see which direction you need to hold to make the setting change you desire.

Code: [Select]
;
; STARTUP HID MODE SELECTION:
;
;              0: Off
;   1: 4Joy+M    |
;            \
;
; 2: 2Joy --     +     [START] Store setting
;
;            /
;       3: KB    |
;              4: iCade
;

2. When using a one-button Atari joystick the startup HID mode setting is ALWAYS stored (even though there is no START button on such a joystick). This behaviour is fine by me, but it might work better if the single button on such a controller could be used to optionally store the setting as can be done using a controller with a START button?
« Last Edit: 24/May/2012 03:09:36 PM by matt »

Online Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #36 on: 26/May/2012 01:53:02 AM »
Solution: Connect Atari 1-button joysticks after powering up the Retrode :)
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline matt

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • gingerbeardman
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #37 on: 26/May/2012 09:28:21 AM »
As crazy as this sounds I don't use any other type of controller with my Retrode.

Maybe it's time to buy a SNES or MD controller.

Offline ICEknight

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #38 on: 29/May/2012 06:42:06 PM »
I see the Power Base Converter support has already been suggested, but not implemented. Oh well. =\


It's so odd that one of the times I was trying to dump SMS cartridges I got a ".gg" ROM... filled with nonsense, but still.

Offline Muzer

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #39 on: 31/May/2012 05:31:24 PM »
I believe some of the address/data lines are connected to pins that are connected together inside the Retrode, probably, so it's apparently almost certainly impossible.

Offline HowlingBlue

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #40 on: 11/Jun/2012 11:50:11 PM »
With regards to SA-1, perhaps if a SuperCIC were placed in a pass-through SNES to SNES board, one could send the correct signals to the key chip in the games? I'm not an electrical engineer (circuits fry my brain), but it's just a random idea that could work.

Probably couldn't be an official adapter even if it did work, anyway, since it would be breaking copy protection and all. But it would be a lot easier than tracking down one of the incredibly rare dumpers that can dump SA-1 games.

EDIT: After making this message I actually tracked down one of the rare dumpers I was talking about... Perhaps I should mention odd dumping devices I still need more often, lol.
« Last Edit: 13/Jun/2012 03:07:25 AM by HowlingBlue »

Offline ICEknight

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #41 on: 01/Jul/2012 03:15:15 AM »
Are there any plans on supporting Backup RAM cartridges?

Right now, the Retrode just detects them as "Generic ROM in SEGA slot", but might not be detecting its entire contents. Also, it doesn't allow to write data back into the cartridge.

Offline JonY

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • consolingmyself.co.uk
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #42 on: 10/Jul/2012 06:04:53 PM »
Up to now, the only ways to get your pictures off your Game Boy Camera are:


Printing has the problem of having to find the rolls of paper, and then it would need scanning if you wanted it on your computer. The other two options bring issues of software no longer working on newer computers, having to locate or make the lead etc.

When Matthias tweeted a picture from a Game Boy Camera that he had purchased, it got me wondering how he had extracted the picture. I asked if he had written some new firmware that listed the images from the Game Boy Camera as image files on the Retrode when you plug one in via a Game Boy Plug-In Adapter. I am guessing that isn't how he did it, as he told me to suggest it here, so here it is (please make this one happen, I have a few Game Boy Cameras that could do with being backed up!).

Suggestion: Make the retrode list the image files from a Game Boy Camera when plugged in via a Game Boy Plug-In Adapter.
« Last Edit: 10/Jul/2012 08:01:29 PM by JonY »

Online Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #43 on: 10/Jul/2012 07:00:38 PM »
That is correct: I used a Game Boy Camera image dumping tool on the SRAM file.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Muzer

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Feature suggestions
« Reply #44 on: 10/Jul/2012 09:45:41 PM »
Suggestion duly added!