Author Topic: Retrode 2 not being recognised  (Read 175 times)

Offline RocknRollTim

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Retrode 2 not being recognised
« on: 05/Jun/2018 09:08:54 PM »
Hi all,

I would appreciate your help very much. Basically I have tried 3 different Windows PCs to get my Retrode 2 to be recognised and none of them have successfully recognised the device. 2 of them said that they could not recognise the device due to insufficient power and the other could not recognise the device at all. I have even tried 2 USB hubs and neither of them have improved the situation. Also I have noticed that the LED light on the unit does not light up when the device is plugged in, should this be lit up? Any suggestions or help would be much appreciated.


Kind regards,


RocknRollTim

Offline MasterOfPuppets

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 not being recognised
« Reply #1 on: 05/Jun/2018 11:37:41 PM »
You mention hubs. Have you tried plugging it in directly? Also, have you tried another USB cable?

Offline RocknRollTim

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Retrode 2 not being recognised
« Reply #2 on: 06/Jun/2018 08:14:49 PM »
Hi MasterOfPuppets,

Thank for responding to my forum thread.

I  tried plugging the Retrode directly into the main PC and it kept powering it off so I gathered it was something related to the Retrode.

However after trying your suggestion of using another USB cable i.e. one from my PS3 controller and plugging it directly from the Retrode into the PC, the device was successfully recognised. The only thing I need to get my head around now is to play games on the PC using the Retrode, but I will eventually figure that out after reading numerous forum threads as well as watching plenty of YouTube videos. I can't believe how much trouble a faulty cable can cause with PC particularly powering it off plus I couldn't imagine it being the Retrode as I researched that it could work with most PCs regardless of power, but at least its working now and thanks to your help.

Once again I would like to say thank you for your help and can't wait to start playing some retro games particularly the Gameboy, N64 and SNES ranges.

Many thanks,

RocknRollTim