Author Topic: VMware Fusion unable to see or connect to Retrode - resolved  (Read 3360 times)

Offline matt

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • gingerbeardman
I use VMware Fusion on my Mac to run Windows and Linux software. When I plug a USB device in, VMware asks whether or not I want to connect it to the VM or the host - OS X. This works for a variety of mice, memory card readers, phones, portable navigation devices, etc.

However, as you may have guessed by now, it does not work for Retrode. When I plug in my Retrode it connects to OS X without asking me.

I was wondering why that might be? Is the Retrode firmware not doing something it should? Or is VMware Fusion at fault?

Any thoughts or help appreciated.

Thanks,
matt
« Last Edit: 03/Mar/2012 07:11:15 PM by matt »

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VMware Fusion unable to see or connect to Retrode
« Reply #1 on: 02/Mar/2012 04:08:25 PM »
I have no idea what VMware does. The Retrode enumerates as a standard USB composite device (mass storage + HID). There must be volumes of relevant literature out there since lots of folks will probably be using VMware for gaming and someone must have had this kind of issue before.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline matt

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • gingerbeardman
Re: VMware Fusion unable to see or connect to Retrode
« Reply #2 on: 02/Mar/2012 04:11:06 PM »
I had a look on the day I created this topic, but nothing came up.

I will keep it on my list for when I have more time.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline matt

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • gingerbeardman
Re: VMware Fusion unable to see or connect to Retrode
« Reply #4 on: 03/Mar/2012 07:11:04 PM »
OK, I ust tried again with firmware 0.17d and VMware can see the device. :)

Windows sees the Retrode controllers only when in Mode 2 (2Joy).



I don't know which version firmware my Retrode shipped with, but the good news is this is no longer an issue with the latest firmware.

Thanks,
matt
« Last Edit: 03/Mar/2012 07:18:34 PM by matt »