Author Topic: File copying on Win7  (Read 2956 times)

Offline bunnyboy

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
File copying on Win7
« on: 27/Mar/2012 01:18:32 AM »
When copying files (.cfg, .srm, etc) to the Retrode, Win7 seems to check the available space on the disk before overwriting the existing file that has the same name.  That means I need to first delete the existing file then do the copy.  Anyone got an easy way around this?  I don't remember this problem on WinXP.

Could the Retrode report some available space on the disk even though it doesn't actually exist?

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: File copying on Win7
« Reply #1 on: 27/Mar/2012 02:11:50 PM »
Have you verified that this method (delete+copy) actually works? I mean, that the data is actually retained after a device reset. The most reliable way to copy data over to the Retrode is to edit the files in place, with an application (text editor or hex editor) that does not generate backup copies.
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline bunnyboy

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: File copying on Win7
« Reply #2 on: 27/Mar/2012 09:09:38 PM »
Deleting the .cfg file does not actually change the data on the Retrode, ejecting and remounting shows the .cfg file is unchanged (and not the default).  It only makes Win7 think there is 2KB of free space on the disk to put the new file.  Once there is space the copy correctly overwrites the old .cfg with the new one.

Offline nitro322

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: File copying on Win7
« Reply #3 on: 30/Mar/2012 03:54:14 AM »
Just FYI, I can confirm this behavior with Windows 7, at least in a VM.  With Linux, I have no problem copying a modified retrode.cfg and overwriting the existing one, but I cannot do the same under Windows 7.  As bunnyboy suggested, first deleting the file will allow me to copy it, and the settings are then saved after a proper umount.

bunnyboy - I don't know if this counts as "easy", but a workaround is to copy the file using the copy command.  This has no problem overwriting what's there, and again, the settings are saved after an unmount.  I couldn't find any way to work around it using a GUI or drag-and-drop method.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: File copying on Win7
« Reply #4 on: 30/Mar/2012 02:56:57 PM »
I'm afraid you may already have found the best workaround there is: delete and copy the file. Mind you, the Retrode mimics a 128MB storage medium within less than 3KB of RAM, which naturally leads to severe limitations when buffering write accesses. How does the config behave when you edit it in place using Notepad?
http://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.