Retrode Community Forum

General Category => Support => Topic started by: JoeMD on 07/Apr/2013 05:55:35 AM

Title: Firmware Upgrade Problem [Solution: Update driver in Device Manager]
Post by: JoeMD on 07/Apr/2013 05:55:35 AM
Hey folks,

I've only had my Retrode for a little while. I just got the SMS plug-in and tried to upgrade the device's firmware as described on the site. However, when I press HWB and RESET the computer continues to recognise the Retrode as the Retrode, it doesn't ask for drivers as stated in the instructions. I've tried it over and over and can't get it to work. Any help would be greatly appreciate.

Cheers.

Retrode 2
Windows 7
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
Post by: Matthias_H on 07/Apr/2013 03:32:50 PM
You need to keep HWB pressed down until a second or so after you release RESET. Also, do they both *click* the same way when you press them? (could be that the HWB push button is not aligned correctly)
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
Post by: JoeMD on 08/Apr/2013 11:50:39 AM
I tried it again but I'm still not getting anywhere. I help down the HWB for a few seconds after pressng Reset as you suggested. The computer "donged" (made the sound it does when removable media is removed) once as id media is being removed normally. Very soon after this (within the few seconds HWB is held after pressing Reset) and then twice more in quick succession. However, the computer no doesn't recognise the Retrode is plugged into it at all, as the Retrode itself or as a new device.

If I do the same but release HWB right after the first "dong" the computer recognises the Retrode again. No matter what I try, the computer NEVER asks for drivers.

I tried the Retrode as-is with the SMS converter and it seems to work fine, although I only ran it for a short time. Still, I'd like to get this issue sorted for any future firmware updates.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
Post by: Matthias_H on 08/Apr/2013 04:02:19 PM
Could you please check your device manager and see if there is a device like "Jungo" or "AT90USB646" there? Maybe you already have the driver installed for whatever reason.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
Post by: JoeMD on 08/Apr/2013 04:05:42 PM
Tried it twice. First I got a device called "Retrode" then "Unknown Device"
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
Post by: korori on 08/Apr/2013 04:35:07 PM
1.) Use Device Manager
2.) Find Unknown Device
3.) Right Click on it
4.) Select Update Driver Software
5.) Select Browse my computer for driver software
6.) Browse to where you installed Flip
7.) Make sure Include Subfolders is checked
8.) Click Next
9.) It will then install the drivers needed for the device.
10.) Then Follow the tutorial on how to use flip to update the firmware.

Korori
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
Post by: JoeMD on 09/Apr/2013 12:50:48 AM
Thanks very much. Worked like a charm.  ;)
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
Post by: thomasgame on 17/Nov/2013 02:13:08 AM
1.) Use Device Manager
2.) Find Unknown Device
3.) Right Click on it
4.) Select Update Driver Software
5.) Select Browse my computer for driver software
6.) Browse to where you installed Flip
7.) Make sure Include Subfolders is checked
8.) Click Next
9.) It will then install the drivers needed for the device.
10.) Then Follow the tutorial on how to use flip to update the firmware.

Korori
I try to browse for Flip and the program refuses to bring up Flip.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
Post by: Wannado on 17/Nov/2013 11:00:04 PM
6.) Browse to where you installed Flip
I try to browse for Flip and the program refuses to bring up Flip.

Did you first install FLIP?

The link to FLIP provided on the firmware page is outdated. It only takes you to the front page of Atmel's website.
Here's an updated link to the download page for FLIP: http://www.atmel.com/tools/FLIP.aspx (http://www.atmel.com/tools/FLIP.aspx)

FLIP requires a Java Runtime Environment (JRE) to run.
If you already have a JRE installed, download "FLIP 3.4.7 for Windows (requires Java Runtime Environment)".
If you do not have a JRE yet, download "FLIP 3.4.7 for Windows (Java Runtime Environement included)" instead.
Note that, from time to time, the version number of FLIP will increase, but I will not update the text of this post to reflect that. :)

To start each download, click the icon next to its description text on the download page.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem
Post by: thomasgame on 19/Nov/2013 08:37:46 PM
6.) Browse to where you installed Flip
I try to browse for Flip and the program refuses to bring up Flip.

Did you first install FLIP?

The link to FLIP provided on the firmware page is outdated. It only takes you to the front page of Atmel's website.
Here's an updated link to the download page for FLIP: http://www.atmel.com/tools/FLIP.aspx (http://www.atmel.com/tools/FLIP.aspx)

FLIP requires a Java Runtime Environment (JRE) to run.
If you already have a JRE installed, download "FLIP 3.4.7 for Windows (requires Java Runtime Environment)".
If you do not have a JRE yet, download "FLIP 3.4.7 for Windows (Java Runtime Environement included)" instead.
Note that, from time to time, the version number of FLIP will increase, but I will not update the text of this post to reflect that. :)

To start each download, click the icon next to its description text on the download page.
I've got it to work.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem [Solution: Update driver in Device Manager]
Post by: Matthias_H on 20/Nov/2013 10:07:13 AM
Sorry for the hassle. Other products are easier to update; I guess it takes more than a part-time wannabe engineer (read: me) to come up with more elegant and usable solutions. Glad to hear you got it to work now.
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem [Solution: Update driver in Device Manager]
Post by: zem on 11/Jul/2017 10:00:49 AM
I am wondering if I have a problem with the firmware update.

I followed the steps in Windows7, but after installing the driver the device  was called AT90USB64 and not AT90USB646. I repeated the steps, but it did not change.

Does anybody know, if the name is just cut or does this lead to problems?
Title: Re: Firmware Upgrade Problem [Solution: Update driver in Device Manager]
Post by: Matthias_H on 11/Jul/2017 06:43:16 PM
So does it work as it should, besides the naming issue?