Retrode Community Forum

General Category => Support => Topic started by: RocknRollTim on 19/Aug/2018 04:21:19 PM

Title: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
Post by: RocknRollTim on 19/Aug/2018 04:21:19 PM
Hi all,

I was wondering whether you could help. I am wanting to play my Goldeneye N64 cartridge using my Retrode 2 with the N64 plugin but is not showing up in Windows Explorer. Any ideas of what the problem could be? Also I have set the Retrode 2 to the 3.3V in order to play N64 cartridges. Your help would be much appreciated.

Kind regards,

RocknRollTim
Title: Re: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
Post by: Land95 on 14/Nov/2018 07:54:06 PM
In my limited time, I have found 2 issues triggering this.

1 - dirty contacts.  Pull the n64 board out of the cartridge case, wash the contacts in high concentration rubbing alchol and let dry.  Polish with white hi-poly art eraser.
2 - garage sale finds that ended up being hacked rom clones.  They play on original n64, but nothing else.  No joy on these.
Title: Re: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
Post by: RocknRollTim on 03/Dec/2018 09:06:56 PM
Hi Land95,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you and thank you for responding to my forum thread, I don't know why I didn't get a notification email in my inbox as I set up the forum thread to send email notifications as soon as new posts are  uploaded.

I will consider taking your advice with regards to troubleshooting cartridges, however I bought my cartridge sealed in its original box and paid quite a bit for it. I will try again to see whether I can get it to work with my Retrode.

Thank you for all your help.

Regards,

RocknRollTim
Title: Re: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
Post by: Land95 on 03/Dec/2018 09:45:16 PM
Do other n64 carts work with the exact same config (same usb cable, pc, usb port on the pc, etc)?

What version firmware are you on? 
I believe the latest is v.25a
http://forum.retrode.org/index.php/topic,392.0.html
http://forum.retrode.org/index.php/topic,382.45.html