Author Topic: Realtec mapper support?  (Read 488 times)

Offline hadess

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
Realtec mapper support?
« on: 04/Sep/2019 10:25:47 AM »
Hey,

I was trying to dump a copy of "Whac-a-critter" [1] I recently got, and it just dumped the same 8kB over and over, instead of dumping 512kB of data.

Apparently, support for the Realtec mapper is missing in Retrode, though support exists in a number of emulators, including Blastem:
https://www.retrodev.com/repos/blastem/file/tip/realtec.c

If somebody in the US wants to have a copy of the game, I'm happy subsidising buying this auction:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Funny-World-Balloon-Boy-Complete-Sega-Megadrive/163768864639

Cheers

[1]: https://segaretro.org/Mallet_Legend

Offline skaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Sgt. Retrode
  • *****
  • Posts: 206
  • Karma: +41/-0
Re: Realtec mapper support?
« Reply #1 on: 04/Sep/2019 06:48:15 PM »
Interesting that you brought this up as I'm currently working on a potential Sega MD/GEN firmware update.

I'll pick up a copy and take a look.

Offline hadess

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Realtec mapper support?
« Reply #2 on: 04/Sep/2019 06:59:25 PM »
Excellent, thanks!

Offline hadess

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Realtec mapper support?
« Reply #3 on: 05/Sep/2019 02:34:06 PM »
And don't hesitate to let me know in my DMs if I can contribute (monetarily) to the cause :)