Author Topic: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?  (Read 14996 times)

Offline geekbri

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +1/-0
Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« on: 08/Jan/2012 12:26:45 AM »
Edit:  It seems like Kega Fusion doesn't want to recognize either the SNES or the Genesis controllers from the retrode.  Has anybody had any luck with these on OS X?  Windows?


Anybody had any luck using a 6 button genesis controller via the retrode2 with kega fusion?  It seems it doesn't think there is a controller plugged in at all.  My SNES controller works no problem.  Very odd...
« Last Edit: 08/Jan/2012 12:35:11 AM by geekbri »

Offline hedwards

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #1 on: 08/Jan/2012 01:03:42 AM »
OK, so it's not just me.

I don't think that Fusion supports controllers, or at least I couldn't find any options. I have had luck using xpadder and a custom adapter that I found elsewhere, but xpadder doesn't detect anything plugged into the retrode.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #2 on: 08/Jan/2012 11:53:13 AM »
I do not have all too much experience with the controller part under OS X. However, there is a slight chance that the company who assembles the Retrode flashed the wrong firmware version. I had first sent them a version where the controller part was badly screwed up, then another corrected version. To be on the safe side, I'd suggest you try the latest version from http://www.retrode.org/firmware . Please report whether that helps.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline geekbri

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #3 on: 08/Jan/2012 12:53:22 PM »
As far as controllers goes, OS X support for them can be a pain in the butt.  I use something called "Gamepad Companion" normally and it allow you to use just about any gamepad on your mac.  This has worked for me in the past with kega fusion (I was one of those segaplay saturn controllers that they were giving away free for a while).

I updated my firmware and the problem still seems to exist.  I believe I did receive the latest firmware with the device as well.  Pre update my product revision was identical to post update (Product Revision: 0x82 (130) for both)

-Brian
« Last Edit: 08/Jan/2012 01:34:56 PM by geekbri »

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #4 on: 09/Jan/2012 02:03:43 AM »
The controller is a standard USB HID Class Game Controller; if the OS doesn't support that properly, there's probably not much we can do from the Retrode's side.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline mulos0815

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #5 on: 09/Jan/2012 10:48:01 AM »
Hi, I'm using the Retrode with my Mac Mini and a Six-Button Sega Arcade Stick or a SNES pad. I had to plug the controller before I start kega fusion, else they where not recognized. Also I had to configure them new every time  I start kega fusion.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #6 on: 10/Jan/2012 04:13:40 PM »
I still have an alternative (development) firmware that uses the USB Keyboard class instead of Game Controllers. This version really should work under ANY OS. Will try to build it for the Retrode 2 next week.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Muzer

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #7 on: 10/Jan/2012 04:23:35 PM »
Fantastic! That'll make it useful for software without controller support, though obviously it should be an option in the config file. Will the keyboard mapping be hardcoded or changeable?

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #8 on: 10/Jan/2012 06:32:42 PM »
Fantastic! That'll make it useful for software without controller support, though obviously it should be an option in the config file. Will the keyboard mapping be hardcoded or changeable?
Keyboard mode used to be in the firmware, but at some point I removed it for the sake of enumeration speed since nobody seemed to be using it anyway. Will have to see how it can be re-integrated without screwing up the rest. Yes, keyboard mapping will be configurable.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Muzer

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #9 on: 10/Jan/2012 10:01:06 PM »
Oh, never realised that... yeah, I think it'd be useful as an option in the config file, so that it doesn't show the keyboard device unless it's enabled (and it's disabled by default).

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #10 on: 30/Jan/2012 07:07:00 AM »
Here's an experimental firmware update that should increase the compatibility under any OS with limited USB game controller support.

In short, there's a new option [HIDMode] in the config. It replaces the old [enumerateHID] and can be set to one of the following four values:
  • 0 - No controllers. This mode offers the fastest initialization when connecting/disconnecting the Retrode. Preferred setting for those who don't use controllers at all.
  • 1 - 4 USB game controllers plus mouse (default in Retrode 2 firmware). Maps each port to a different USB game controller, and supports the Super Mario Paint mouse an the left SNES controller port. Up to 4 players.
  • 2 - 2 USB game controllers. The left Sega and SNES ports are both mapped to controller 1, the right ones to controller 2. Up to 2 players.
  • 3 - Keyboard mode. Up to 2 players (again; player 1: left ports; player 2: right ports). Key mappings can be configured in RETRODE.CFG.

Mac users, please give it a try, and see if [HIDMode] 3 fixes your problem. Please note, you may run into trouble editing the config file from a Mac or Linux. Your best bet would be to change the config on a Windows machine.

Testing under all OSes is greatly appreciated, for that matter. Since this update involved a massive re-write of the USB controller part, please let me know if something does not quite behave the way it should.

Cheers,
Matthias
« Last Edit: 30/Jan/2012 08:59:54 PM by Matthias_H »
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline aaale

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #11 on: 30/Jan/2012 01:25:38 PM »
It's working for me using [HIDMode] 3 !!!  :) :) :)

Offline gadgetoid

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #12 on: 30/Jan/2012 11:29:51 PM »
Firmware updated and config file modified. Hopefully I should be able to hook up a SMD controller and try it out tomorrow.

Update: Hooked up a Competition PRO pad this morning. Works like a dream.

Can't wait to get my hands on a Raspberry Pi!
« Last Edit: 31/Jan/2012 09:38:37 AM by gadgetoid »

Offline gliitch

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Kega Fusion + retrode2 + OS X = No controllers?
« Reply #13 on: 16/Nov/2013 02:47:56 PM »
I'm getting a Retrode II for my birthday, I also run OSX & Fusion, the controllers are seen by Fusion but its a bit tricky as it's not always so responsive you've got to be quick with the inputs. I would imagine that its the code for the emulator on OSX rather than the actual Retrode itself which is the problem.

There are a few articles about Fusion & OSX controller compatibility, its very flaky to say the least.