Author Topic: Faulty Retrode?  (Read 3730 times)

Offline Catbus

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Faulty Retrode?
« on: 15/Jul/2013 10:36:48 PM »
Just got my Retrode in the mail and plugged it in. The status LED flashes twice, windows fails to install the proper drivers. Okay. I plug it into my other computer, the status LED flashes twice, windows doesn't even detect it let alone try to install any drivers. And yes, I sat around for a few minutes with it hooked up in both cases.

Any ideas?

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 555
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Faulty Retrode?
« Reply #1 on: 16/Jul/2013 05:51:49 AM »
Some information would help.

Windows version? Any error messages? Anything showing up in device manager? How does the USB connector feel; could it be the old shaky cable problem (connector sitting far back in the device)?

Is the device detected if you enter DFU mode (see this page)? If so, a firmware refresh might help - just install latest version as per instructions.
« Last Edit: 16/Jul/2013 07:12:12 AM by Matthias_H »
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Catbus

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Faulty Retrode?
« Reply #2 on: 17/Jul/2013 07:02:06 PM »
Some information would help.

Windows version? Any error messages? Anything showing up in device manager? How does the USB connector feel; could it be the old shaky cable problem (connector sitting far back in the device)?

Is the device detected if you enter DFU mode (see this page)? If so, a firmware refresh might help - just install latest version as per instructions.

Windows 7 64-bit. No error messages outside of



but I'm starting to think that isn't for the Retrode since my other computer doesn't detect anything at all.

USB connector feels snug. Nothing changes by entering DFU mode.

This is incredibly disappointing as I was really in a hurry to back up a particular save file before the battery on the cart runs dry.
« Last Edit: 17/Jul/2013 07:04:06 PM by Catbus »

Offline Catbus

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Faulty Retrode?
« Reply #3 on: 20/Jul/2013 01:29:50 AM »
I think I'd like to just send it back and get a refund. How do I go about beginning that process?

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 555
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Faulty Retrode?
« Reply #4 on: 20/Jul/2013 10:34:13 PM »
-> e-mail
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Catbus

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Faulty Retrode?
« Reply #5 on: 21/Jul/2013 05:28:13 PM »
-> e-mail
Alright then. I'll try to get it back to you guys as soon as I can.

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 555
  • Karma: +21/-0
Update: I just received a "faulty" unit for investigation and, as it turns out, it was the cable! It doesn't have the data lines wired, just power (I suppose for charging devices but not for data connection). Could you try with a different cable please?
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.