Author Topic: GBA games nonfunctioning [SOLVED]  (Read 4758 times)

Offline billy.wade

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
GBA games nonfunctioning [SOLVED]
« on: 19/Jan/2014 09:16:46 PM »
I'm having trouble emulating a few of my GBA games from the Retrode and its ROM dumps. All games are NTSC and function on a GBA SP. I emulate both from VisualBoy running in WINE and a PSP running gPSP Kai. If The Emulation King (Matthias) would like, I have copies of the ROMs, provided e-mailing zips of them for debug falls within the confines of US law.

Pokemon FireRed: Opening animation runs, but beyond that nothing.

Pokemon Emerald: Runs on PSP, white screens on computer.

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe: Blank white screen, crashes PSP.

Yu-Gi-Oh GX: Duel Academy: Blank white screen, leaves PSP running.

« Last Edit: 22/Jan/2014 01:03:14 AM by Lazypsudeonym »
-Current Operating Systems/Specs-
Manjaro Linux (Arch), Nvidia 760 video card with proprietary drivers
Retrode 2, firmware .25a

Offline MasterOfPuppets

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: GBA games nonfunctioning
« Reply #1 on: 20/Jan/2014 03:21:53 AM »
Please check to make sure the ROM sizes are correct.

http://offlinelistgba.free.fr/

If not, force the size in the Retrode config.

Do you know how to verify checksums? If so, please do (on the correct size ROMs).

http://datomatic.no-intro.org/?page=search

If you do not know how do either, let me know and I will tell you.


Offline billy.wade

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GBA games nonfunctioning
« Reply #2 on: 20/Jan/2014 05:21:01 PM »
I don't know how to do either, to be honest.

FireRed: 64/128 mbits

Narnia: 8/128 mbits

Duel Academy: 8/256 mbits

Emerald: Full size
-Current Operating Systems/Specs-
Manjaro Linux (Arch), Nvidia 760 video card with proprietary drivers
Retrode 2, firmware .25a

Offline korori

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: GBA games nonfunctioning
« Reply #3 on: 20/Jan/2014 06:21:24 PM »
Basically inorder to get fire red yo work you need to open Retrode.cfg in an editor like notepad++.

Scroll until you see
[forceSystem] auto
[forceSize] 16

Change both those values to
[forceSystem] gba
[forceSize] 16

Note you will note be able to retrieve the save data only the rom. If you wish to play other games you need to change the [forceSystem] back to auto.

I just tried it on my system to make sure I am telling you correctly and I was able to get to choose my first starter. What I  posted above is for Firered. Though is should work once you know the [forceSize] in MB.


Firered : 16
Emerald: 16
Yugioh : 32
Chronicles of Narnia : 16

Just use that datomatic.no-intro.org and convert it from bytes to MB

Korori

Offline billy.wade

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GBA games nonfunctioning
« Reply #4 on: 20/Jan/2014 11:35:24 PM »
I tried to alter the values, and upon saving, I got alerted that there is no space left on the device and that the file would be truncated.

EDIT: when opened in Gparted, the Retrode is displayed as having 128MB unallocated. Should a partition be granted to it?
« Last Edit: 20/Jan/2014 11:38:08 PM by Lazypsudeonym »
-Current Operating Systems/Specs-
Manjaro Linux (Arch), Nvidia 760 video card with proprietary drivers
Retrode 2, firmware .25a

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: GBA games nonfunctioning
« Reply #5 on: 21/Jan/2014 09:20:57 AM »
If you're under Linux (WINE?), your most convenient way of altering the config may go along the lines of:

echo "[configSetting] value" >> /path-to/retrode/RETRODE.CFG

The Retrode has exactly 2560 bytes of writable memory (the config file itself, plus some FAT entries). Everything else is a matter of pure imagination and part of why I'm so proud of the thing :)
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline billy.wade

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: GBA games nonfunctioning
« Reply #6 on: 22/Jan/2014 12:33:36 AM »
It worked! Thank you, Matthias.

I would be proud, too, if I had built the greatest consumer emulation tool since the computer itself.
-Current Operating Systems/Specs-
Manjaro Linux (Arch), Nvidia 760 video card with proprietary drivers
Retrode 2, firmware .25a

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: GBA games nonfunctioning [SOLVED]
« Reply #7 on: 22/Jan/2014 01:49:11 PM »
Thanks for confirming! Wish you a lot of fun with the gadget.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.