Author Topic: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin  (Read 2656 times)

Offline RocknRollTim

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
« on: 19/Aug/2018 04:21:19 PM »
Hi all,

I was wondering whether you could help. I am wanting to play my Goldeneye N64 cartridge using my Retrode 2 with the N64 plugin but is not showing up in Windows Explorer. Any ideas of what the problem could be? Also I have set the Retrode 2 to the 3.3V in order to play N64 cartridges. Your help would be much appreciated.

Kind regards,

RocknRollTim

Offline Land95

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
« Reply #1 on: 14/Nov/2018 07:54:06 PM »
In my limited time, I have found 2 issues triggering this.

1 - dirty contacts.  Pull the n64 board out of the cartridge case, wash the contacts in high concentration rubbing alchol and let dry.  Polish with white hi-poly art eraser.
2 - garage sale finds that ended up being hacked rom clones.  They play on original n64, but nothing else.  No joy on these.

Offline RocknRollTim

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
« Reply #2 on: 03/Dec/2018 09:06:56 PM »
Hi Land95,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you and thank you for responding to my forum thread, I don't know why I didn't get a notification email in my inbox as I set up the forum thread to send email notifications as soon as new posts are  uploaded.

I will consider taking your advice with regards to troubleshooting cartridges, however I bought my cartridge sealed in its original box and paid quite a bit for it. I will try again to see whether I can get it to work with my Retrode.

Thank you for all your help.

Regards,

RocknRollTim

Offline Land95

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
« Reply #3 on: 03/Dec/2018 09:45:16 PM »
Do other n64 carts work with the exact same config (same usb cable, pc, usb port on the pc, etc)?

What version firmware are you on? 
I believe the latest is v.25a
http://forum.retrode.org/index.php/topic,392.0.html
http://forum.retrode.org/index.php/topic,382.45.html



Offline Secadary

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
« Reply #4 on: 03/Jan/2019 04:08:16 AM »
I have no words to thank you.

Offline RocknRollTim

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Retrode 2 not recognising N64 plugin
« Reply #5 on: 27/Jan/2019 11:32:01 AM »
Hi Land95,

Sorry for the very long delay in getting back to you. I managed to get the N64 cart to work with the unit. It turned out to be a bit of dust causing the issue. Goldeneye N64 is the only N64 cart I have got at the moment but will sure to get more N64 carts in time. Firmware version I am currently running is 25a-beta according to the config on the unit.

Regards,

RocknRollTim