Author Topic: Submitting "bug" reports?  (Read 4020 times)

Offline nitro322

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
Submitting "bug" reports?
« on: 26/Mar/2012 03:54:09 AM »
While dumping all of my SNES ROMs, I came across a bunch that were either overdumped and needed to be trimmed, as well as a few that could not be automatically detected and had to have forceSize set to the appropriate Mb size.

For the sake of improving the Retrode (2), I'm thinking of redumping all of my games and this time taking notes about the ones I had trouble with.  Would this be helpful?  Ie., could this info be used to improve automatic detection and dumping?

If so, what information would you like for each problem game, aside from, say, the game name, checksum, problem description, and necessary setting(s)?  Also, where should I post such information?

Offline ICEknight

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Submitting "bug" reports?
« Reply #1 on: 30/Mar/2012 10:44:54 PM »
Before reporting any cartridge as having an odd behavior, I'd try cleaning its contacts many times, just to make sure that's not the reason it doesn't get detected prperrly, and pressing the Retrode's reset button when trying again.

That worked for some of my SNES and Mega Drive cartridges.

Offline Muzer

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: Submitting "bug" reports?
« Reply #2 on: 01/Apr/2012 12:10:02 AM »
Also, this method seemed to have the most likelihood of working (in my unscientific tests):

* Have Retrode unplugged
* Insert cartridge
* Plug Retrode into computer


...rather than plugging the cartridge in when the Retrode is plugged in

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 553
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: Submitting "bug" reports?
« Reply #3 on: 06/Apr/2012 03:34:53 PM »
You might as well try to hit the reset button on the Retrode.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.