Author Topic: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode  (Read 13244 times)

Offline zin0099

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« on: 10/May/2012 03:09:17 AM »
i was wondering if i need a 32x addon in order to use 32x games on a retrode 2.0 if so i got one and knuckles chaotix 32x game just need a retrode

also does addons like sufami turbo work?

Offline MasterOfPuppets

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #1 on: 10/May/2012 03:32:20 AM »
Yes, in order to dump 32X games you will need to use a 32X as well.

The Sufami Turbo would work much the same way that the BS-X cart works in that you can dump the SNES game on the pack itself, but not the packs you can plug into it.


Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #2 on: 10/May/2012 06:49:28 AM »
Yes, in order to dump 32X games you will need to use a 32X as well.

Not quite. A PZ1-type screwdriver should suffice. The only reason 32X carts don't work by default is because they're too fat for the slot.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline zin0099

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #3 on: 10/May/2012 01:13:12 PM »
so are u saying if the hole was bigger i wouldn't need a 32x?

not that i would cut the hole bigger when i get my retrode

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #4 on: 10/May/2012 02:41:18 PM »
Exactly. If I had made the slot wider, you wouldn't need a 32X but you'd have a harder time inserting (centering) your regular Mega Drive cartridges.

As for the Sufami Turbo, I'd need to know what it looks like on the inside. (Is it just a pass-through or does it include elaborate electronics?) If the slot only uses the center 46 pins, chances are high. Anyway, can't hurt to give it a try.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline MasterOfPuppets

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #5 on: 10/May/2012 03:26:15 PM »
Yes, in order to dump 32X games you will need to use a 32X as well.

Not quite. A PZ1-type screwdriver should suffice. The only reason 32X carts don't work by default is because they're too fat for the slot.

Whoops, sorry about that.

Offline JonY

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • consolingmyself.co.uk
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #6 on: 10/May/2012 06:48:56 PM »
...As for the Sufami Turbo, I'd need to know what it looks like on the inside. (Is it just a pass-through or does it include elaborate electronics?) If the slot only uses the center 46 pins, chances are high. Anyway, can't hurt to give it a try.

I just tried my Sufami Turbo, unfortunately I don't have a game for it, but the 'you don't have a cart plugged in' screen loads up. Here is a screen shot of Sufami Turbo cart running in an emulator.

I also took a couple of photos of the Sufami Turbo PCB:
Sufami Turbo cart PCB front
Sufami Turbo cart PCB back

« Last Edit: 10/May/2012 06:59:57 PM by Matthias_H »

Offline Muzer

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #7 on: 10/May/2012 09:54:51 PM »
From those pictures, does look like it uses just the centre 24 (even though all pins are physically present, the outer 8 aren't connected on either side AFAICT) - what do you think, Matthias_H, should I add it to the feature suggestion list?


Anyway, great job on the new firmware!

Offline JonY

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • consolingmyself.co.uk
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #8 on: 10/May/2012 10:26:41 PM »
From those pictures, does look like it uses just the centre 24 (even though all pins are physically present, the outer 8 aren't connected on either side AFAICT)

I can confirm that it doesn't use any of the outer pins.

It's a shame I don't have any games for it, I will try and pick one up, see what it does.

Offline zin0099

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #9 on: 11/May/2012 01:10:11 AM »
i have a sufami turbo and a sd gundam generation f (the one with nothing but ggundam characters) and i just need to order my retrode soon!!!!

hey is there plan for differant colors like that nice orange one (i would like half clear green and the other half pure black )

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #10 on: 11/May/2012 06:47:49 AM »
hey is there plan for differant colors like that nice orange one (i would like half clear green and the other half pure black )
Depends. How many thousand do you need? :-)

I will offer a limited run of blue-metallic "deluxe" Retrodes through my online store, but apart from that and occasional experimental units (like the orange ones on Facebook), the Retrode will remain black.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline Muzer

  • Sgt. Retrode
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: +4/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #11 on: 11/May/2012 08:02:41 AM »
Damn your evil plans, making me buy more (joking, I wouldn't buy another just because it's in a different colour ;))

But, on a serious note, will any new versions in the immediate future have a different board revision, or is that the same? If you've not ordered the boards yet, I believe there was actually an error in the pin numbering of one of the cartridge slots (I can't remember which one, I'll check tonight if you want - but it's reversed for one side of the slot).

Offline zin0099

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #12 on: 11/May/2012 01:23:34 PM »
hey is there plan for differant colors like that nice orange one (i would like half clear green and the other half pure black )
Depends. How many thousand do you need? :-)

I will offer a limited run of blue-metallic "deluxe" Retrodes through my online store, but apart from that and occasional experimental units (like the orange ones on Facebook), the Retrode will remain black.

ah man there goes my fave color but black will do!!!!

but if there is an expermental green colored let me know !!!! i will purchase it off of you!!!!!!

Offline Matthias_H

  • Retrode Forum Techie
  • A Retrode Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 552
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #13 on: 11/May/2012 02:36:43 PM »
Damn your evil plans, making me buy more (joking, I wouldn't buy another just because it's in a different colour ;))

But, on a serious note, will any new versions in the immediate future have a different board revision, or is that the same? If you've not ordered the boards yet, I believe there was actually an error in the pin numbering of one of the cartridge slots (I can't remember which one, I'll check tonight if you want - but it's reversed for one side of the slot).

You probably mean the SNES slot, where I indeed just found that the marking is wrong - pin 1 and pin 32 should be on the same end. Too late to fix for the current production run, but I'll make sure to change it in future batches.
https://www.retrode.org

I no longer sell the Retrode. For sales inquiries, please contact our friends at DragonBox.

Offline zin0099

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: knuckles chaotix and the 32x addon with retrode
« Reply #14 on: 13/May/2012 02:18:28 PM »
will the ones in july be fixed from this error?
i have to wait to order mine