Retrode Community Forum

General Category => General Discussion => Topic started by: hammer on 03/Aug/2014 11:22:27 PM

Title: WTB - 2600 adapter
Post by: hammer on 03/Aug/2014 11:22:27 PM
Does anyone know anywhere I could buy a 2600 adapter for the Retrode (is anyone willing to sell theirs)? I also might be willing to pay someone to build one for me if that is an option...

Thanks.
Title: Re: WTB - 2600 adapter
Post by: Retrode64 on 04/Aug/2014 01:20:43 AM
I think that building one is your only option. There was never an official plugin for the 2600.
Title: Re: WTB - 2600 adapter
Post by: hammer on 04/Aug/2014 01:24:47 AM
I think that building one is your only option. There was never an official plugin for the 2600.

My understanding is that there was, sold for a limited time. It wasn't fancy like the later N64/SMS/GB adapters but it was sold. Others feel free to confirm or deny.
Title: Re: WTB - 2600 adapter
Post by: hammer on 04/Aug/2014 11:59:45 PM
Just to offer some evidence:

https://web.archive.org/web/20100731073939/http://www.retrode.org/2010/07/plug-in-adapters-almost-here-order-yours-now/

Unfortunately, by the time I heard about the Retrode, Matthias had discontinued this because he thought it didn't work. Then afterwards someone else got it to work, and the firmware was never updated, but the adapter never went back on sale. I've been hoping for a long time and now the whole Retrode is out of business. :(

Anyone who can help me acquire one of these, or any leads, would be greatly appreciated.
Title: Re: WTB - 2600 adapter
Post by: emuDrache on 06/Aug/2014 06:03:00 PM
Yes they did exist
Yes for a limited time.
Matthias used some of my 2600 games to test.
I think at one point there were problems because of the power the chips used but don't quote me on that.
There was also someone fixing firmware to help make it work better.
Title: Re: WTB - 2600 adapter
Post by: hammer on 08/Aug/2014 03:14:49 AM
Yes they did exist
Yes for a limited time.
Matthias used some of my 2600 games to test.
I think at one point there were problems because of the power the chips used but don't quote me on that.
There was also someone fixing firmware to help make it work better.

Right, and the firmware was eventually fixed.....

Come on, nobody has one to sell? :( I wish I knew what I was doing so I could build it myself... :(