Retrode Community Forum

General Category => Support => Topic started by: Nori on 24/Jul/2019 09:53:52 PM

Title: Has SNES save copying back to Retrode been disabled from .025a?
Post by: Nori on 24/Jul/2019 09:53:52 PM
I no longer seem to be able to write srm's over the previous ones on cart ever since my last update.

I used to just plug it in, erase the srm on cart and then drag and drop the new one (same name, same size) into the retrode folder and after unplugging and trying on an actual snes the change would work. Now instead it insists on keeping the existing file (using Windows 7 by the way).

This essentially renders my retrode to a one way transfer device which is a real bummer. :/

I noticed there's a line in the config for:

[saveReadonly] 1    ; write protect save? 0=no, 1=yes

I tried changing that to 0 but it made no difference.

I've tried some big name titles such as the US Final Fantasy II etc, and still the same result. I can copy files over to the PC but not back to the cart.
Title: Re: Has SNES save copying back to Retrode been disabled from .025a?
Post by: Nori on 24/Jul/2019 09:57:32 PM
Ok, now I found it suddenly worked on FFII. I have no idea what I did different that made it work but here was the last thing I had tried:

[saveReadonly] 0    ; write protect save? 0=no, 1=yes

I changed the entry above to 0, then deleted the existing srm on cart, copied the desired srm to the cart, then reverted the setting above to 1, saved config, unplugged, and it was working.

Any idea what was going on just for documentation's sake? lol
Title: Re: Has SNES save copying back to Retrode been disabled from .025a?
Post by: Gladson on 25/Jul/2019 08:31:06 PM
This config entry does exactly what it says: makes cartridge saves ready-only or not. It's kinda self explanatory.

If it's set to 1, Retrode will only be able to read saves from carts do PC. They're read-only.

If it's set to 0, Retrode will not only be able to read from but also write on the save area of the plugged cartridge.

If you just wanna back up your saves, set it to 1 so you don't erase or overwrite the saves ok the cart itself by mistake. If you wanna restore saves from the PC back to the carts, it must be set to 0.
Title: Re: Has SNES save copying back to Retrode been disabled from .025a?
Post by: Nori on 25/Jul/2019 09:22:14 PM
Thank you for that explanation. I guess in updating to the latest version it reverted to the default of 1, while I had probably set it to 0 years ago and hadn't realized this had reverted back.