Author Topic: Retrode on Acer Revo RL70  (Read 4468 times)

Offline matt

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • gingerbeardman
Retrode on Acer Revo RL70
« on: 28/Aug/2012 03:04:33 PM »
I was hoping that the Raspberry Pi would be powerful enough to run the game emulators I was interested in, but that looks to not be the case. So I set about looking for an alternative system: I found the Acer Revo RL70 nettop PC.



It has 4GB RAM, 6xUSB, WLAN, LAN, HDMI, VGA, SPDIF, memory card reader, headphone & mic sockets. Wireless keyboard and mouse, too.
It runs an AMD dual core E-450 processor, at 1.65GHz, with AMD Radeon HD 6320 graphics.



And it can be mounted on the back of a TV  8)



I have it setup using Windows XP and a bunch of emulators under the Maximus Arcade frontend. MAME, MD, SNES, Amiga.
I also have OpenElec installed for XBMC as a media player.

Similar to this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szLCe8IzB_s

Works a treat with my Retrode. :)

I'm happy to answer questions if anybody wants to do the same thing.

matt
« Last Edit: 28/Aug/2012 03:11:59 PM by matt »

Offline ríomhaire

  • Baby Retrode
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Retrode on Acer Revo RL70
« Reply #1 on: 28/Aug/2012 04:29:58 PM »
Even with all the bad reviews I've heard about Acer products that looks like a damn sexy setup. Any issues so far? Having trouble running anything that you had hoped to?
« Last Edit: 28/Aug/2012 04:35:30 PM by ríomhaire »

Offline matt

  • Junior Retrode
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • gingerbeardman
Re: Retrode on Acer Revo RL70
« Reply #2 on: 28/Aug/2012 05:34:00 PM »
CPU wise, it is of course limited. Anything more complex than PS1 emulation (PS2, Saturn, GC, Wii etc) is out of the question. That is fine as I don't want to run anything more recent than PS1 and N64.

I was surprised that it can do Amiga A1200 emulation without any problems.

When configuring everything, it helps if you keep the output resolution as close to the native resolution of the emulated system as possible - so there are less pixels to shift around - and let your TV do the upscaling.

As well as my Retrode, I have also connected separate USB adapters for PSX and N64 controllers. So I've got proper controllers for all my favourite platforms.

I'll keep this thread updated with my experiences.

matt